Shit’s all frakked up…

There’s been quite a bit going on lately, that’s why I haven’t blogged in a while.  To the two people that have missed it, I apologize.

A lot of stuff has been weighing on my mind lately and as a result, my drive and ability to write was hindered for quite a while.  My bar is closing this weekend and there’s a mix of feelings in regard to that.  Three of the five kids are playing baseball this summer so we’re quite busy with that; games four of five nights this week with a practice or two thrown in for good measure.  The missus is done with school for the summer (four As and a B!), the kids finished up school Wednesday, and work has been in frakkin’ sane.

As a result, when I get home I’m often too exhausted to write; be it physical, emotional, or mental.  Some days it’s all three.

And the most frustrating bit about it?  I’m so close!  It was approximately a year ago that I finished my bar book, Time With His Fools.  I turned right around and started this current project within days.  I’ve been muddling around with the last few chapters for the past few months.  I’ve been mired in writer’s block, lack of inspiration, and lack of drive.

For those of you who’ve never experienced writer’s block, it’s kind of like erectile dysfunction only there’s no expensive pill to make it go away.  There’s Twitter, but that’s completely different.

As a result, I’ve been on a quest for literary aids everywhere.  This past winter, I’d found that the music of Motown was great for writing. Eventually, though, that ran its course and I found myself staring at blank pages for hours on end.  This current project is a sci-fi/mystery/noir themed book, somewhat inspired by the gobs of Doctor Who and Torchwood I’ve been watching the past two years.  So, on a bit of a whim, I downloaded the soundtracks for the last three seasons of Doctor Who.

Mock if you must, but it worked.

Yesterday I began writing what I think will be the last chapter.  It’s an exciting feeling.

However, as I said my bar is closing this weekend.  Thus, I took a vacation day today.  I did so to mourn the passing of my bar (and because I needed a break, damnit) and to write.

Then I remembered that I have a difficult time writing when I have a hangover.

Ain’t enough Murray Gold orchestrated sci-fi soundtracks to fight that…

But I’m trying.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

